Are nerds intellectually smart, while at the same time socially stupid? They have minds that can see into the cosmic universe, but place them in a party setting, and watch them squirm in terror when a girl approaches.

Now certainly not all nerds are socially inept, but many are, and some are in a big way.

I wish I was born a nerd, so I could fix my computer, hook up my TV, and have a cool programing job, or become a scientist, but alas, I am not. I can barely turn my computer on and off, and at the least little thing I am calling the high-priced computer tech to rescue me.

I am sure the computer tech has a good laugh after he leaves. I am happy that I can bring joy into his world, even if at my expense.

When I was a teen I was thrilled to be the cool kid with all the cool friends, and not the nerd like one of my brothers. I got along with everyone, but knew the nerds were different, and 35 years ago, not so much in a good way, or so it seemed. Most kids have an aversion to bathing, but the nerds aversion went into their late teens – they often came to school with greasy hair and wrinkled clothes. While my friends and I were vying for the seats nearest the back of the classroom, the nerds were sitting as close to the teacher as spacial physics allowed, so they could plant their nose firmly up the teachers bum. In hindsight, that would have been the prudent thing for me to do . . . to suck up to the teacher, and sit closer to the person teaching and handing out the grades.

I didn’t understand how life worked back then, and even now I am not a suck-up, and seem to lack the ability.

But the laugh is on me, and everyone who thought the nerds were uncool. We are all working for the nerds! They are our bosses and the owners of the businesses we work for, they own the biggest houses in our cities and the high-priced property around our globe. They certainly have the most stuff, and in America, your “stuff” is your status . . . a measure of your importance, or lack there of.

At one time in my life I was offered a job as Microsoft’s Senior Vice Presidents 3rd assistant. I turned him down flat without even considering it. I could have found a cute nerd to marry, and take care of me. Ha ha ha! That wouldn’t have worked, since I possess a sick need to earn my money myself, and not let anyone else help me. But, I have looked back on that experience and wondered why it wasn’t even a possibility for me.

I am not the marrying kind, and if I was, I could never marry for money, or friendship. And a corporate setting – even one as freeing as Microsoft provides (or used to anyway) – would never work out. I am unemployable! I have worked for myself for too long to punch a time card and take orders. Giving up the freedom to work for a client, or to drop a client would be gone. I would have to fall in line, and march to someone else’s drum.

I am happy that nerds are finally accepted and now celebrated in our society. They had a great gift to give to our modern world, and although I am still no where close to being considered a nerd, I celebrate nerdom, and wish I had cultivated closer relationships with them in school, especially my wonderful brother. He is still a nerd (he’s a Professor 🙂 but he’s also very cool. Maybe he always was and I was too close-minded to notice or give him credit. I’m sorry about that.

Nerd-alert! That phrase coined so long ago has new meaning, and that’s a good thing.

PS….the picture on the cover is of my dad – first generation nerd – in the 70’s with the first computer made (notice he has 2 sitting on his desk at home!). My brother was a second generation nerd 🙂