Addicted to cortisol – the death hormone – stress junkies love the high they receive from their stress, even if they believe they hate it. Stress: an inward response to an outward experience.

If you had 100 million dollars cash in the bank, and no debt, would you still stress over money? If you have developed a habit of worrying about money, then you would continue to feel stress. You would create scenarios that gave you your buzz, your high.

A friend of mine has at least 100 mil in the bank, and he continually sets up situations where he is bombarded with stress. He is the creator of his reality, as are we all.

You would think that if someone has 100 million dollars, stress would be non-existent. But since stress is an inward response, we can only end the stress junkie cycle by addressing our thought patterns, which then automatically addresses our responses.

Our thought patterns and preconceived ideas are the cause, not the experience. The experience can be viewed from countless vantage points, with one view being benevolent, and another view being violent. One view is relaxed, and the other view stress filled.

I am a firm believer in steering my bus – my thoughts – in the right direction . . . toward peace, love, compassion and mercy. I try to remember that I have a choice in all matters, and when I choose rightly, I am rewarded with peace in my moments and in my life.

When I allow the stressful response, my moments are filled with worry, agitation, and fear. When I was first changing my thought patterns I noticed that even when I had chosen rightly, and responded in a peaceful manner, I would find a way to feel worry and fear. The buzz that accompanied those choices would hit me like a blast of energy. I was addicted to that blast.

A blast of negative energy was better than no energy at all. I felt alive when in the midst of my self-created stress. Life as a peaceful being was boring. I was unaware of the whole process and my part in my own life.

I began to analyze why I preferred the stress-filled response over the peace-filled response. It was the buzz I received. Like a child that needs attention, even if it is negative attention, I was addicted to the hormone that flooded my body.

I needed to end my addiction, even if a boring life was the result. At first I was a bit tired, but I soon found that the peaceful way of living had ample benefits that far out weighed the cortisol buzz.

Now I can see where I am in the process, and I can choose to allow fear and worry to swamp my senses, or I can stop fear and worry dead in their tracks by starving the beast. The beast that devours, giving in return a junkies buzz, but demanding my peace and my life as payment.

I understand that I must let go of fear and worry, and live free, knowing I did the best I could, and it is what it is. I can do no more.

With meditation and a desire to live free from stress, I soon developed a peaceful approach to my moments and to my life, regardless of the appearances of the outward events and my experiences. I became addicted to the pursuit of peace and harmony.

Now life is simpler and easier, and my mind and body are flooded with the youth hormone, DHEA. Cortisol was a thing of my past, and my addiction to it was broken.

In order to switch from stress to calm, I had to go to the place of origin: my thoughts. Disciplining my mind was the key, then reality followed like a dog to a meaty bone. I had changed my inward response which automatically changed my outward reality.

Problems still present themselves – no one escapes life’s tough spots – but now I have the peace of mind to navigate them with stealth and strength, and a knowing that I am the only factor in whether I feel peace and harmony, or a run away freight train barreling through me – stress.

The stress junkie is dead. Long live the peaceful me.